University of Chicago Radiology Impact and Appreciation Award

The University of Chicago Department of Radiology Impact and Appreciation Award recognizes those individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the Department through teaching, research, clinical acumen and/or leadership. 

Previous recipients of the Radiology Impact and Appreciation Award are listed below.


Larry B. Dixon, MD, completed his radiology residency at the Medical College of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, where he was Chief Resident.  He stayed in Philadelphia for his Fellowship in Musculoskeletal Imaging at the University of Pennsylvania.  In 1985, he joined the radiology faculty at the University of Chicago, and became the Chief of the Section of Musculoskeletal Radiology in 1993.  In addition to overseeing a rotation that was a favorite among residents, Dr. Dixon helped to develop a successful Musculoskeletal Imaging Fellowship at the University in 1999, and was its Program Director for 20 years.  During his career at the University, Dr. Dixon also served as Chair of the Radiology Residency Selection Committee and as a member of the Medical Student Selection Committee for the Pritzker School of Medicine.  Dr. Dixon is a three-time recipient of the Mark Tetalman Award for Outstanding Teaching in the department – a feat yet unmatched by any other faculty member.  A beloved educator by residents, fellows, medical students and faculty, Dr. Dixon’s enthusiasm for teaching was unsurpassed within the department.  In addition to supervising countless radiology trainees, he was an active participant in the Physical Diagnosis Course for the Pritzker Medical Students, and gave popular lectures to the anthropology and medical physics graduate students at the University.  He also hosted students from the William M. Scholl College of Podiatric Medicine, and would routinely visit the College to teach.  He was a Visiting Professor at the University of Wisconsin and Michigan State University, and also taught a radiology “bootcamp” for members of the American College of Rheumatology.  After more than 35 years of exemplary service to the Department of Radiology and the University of Chicago, Dr. Dixon announced his retirement.  A highly-respected physician amongst his peers and favorite educator amongst his trainees, Dr. Dixon was well-known for his laughter, light-hearted humor, loyalty to his profession, and love of travel. 

David K. Yousefzadeh

David K. Yousefzadeh, MD, completed his Pediatric Residency at Philadelphia General Hospital, followed by a Diagnostic Radiology Residency at Hahnemann School of Medicine and a Pediatric Radiology Fellowship at St. Christopher’s Hospital for Children, also in Philadelphia.  Following appointments at the University of Texas and University of Iowa, he joined the staff at the University of Chicago in 1983 as a Professor of Radiology and Pediatrics, serving as the Director of Pediatric Radiology until 1990.  He received an honorary Professorship from the Department of Surgery in 2003, and was named Professor Emeritus in 2010, after serving the University of Chicago for 27 years.  We honor Dr. Yousefzadeh not only for his contributions to pediatric radiology and his care of countless pediatric patients, but for his enthusiasm and constant encouragement while teaching and mentoring residents and medical students.  Few faculty members took as much time and expended as much effort educating trainees during rounds, conferences, and one-on-one teaching sessions as did “Dr. Y”.  During his time at University of Chicago, he was awarded the Marc Tetalman Memorial Award for Outstanding Teaching and the Jim Ryan Award for Senior Resident Teaching in the Department of Radiology.  His many honors, publications and peer-reviewed articles, scientific exhibits and invited presentations culminated in his receipt of the Pioneer Award from the Society of Pediatric Radiology in 2010 for his contributions to the early development of the specialty.  It is our pleasure to bestow the Inaugural University of Chicago Department of Radiology Impact and Appreciation Award to him.