Latest News and Announcements

Dr Christoforidis Appointed Bucksbaum Institute Senior Faculty Scholar

We are thrilled to announce that Dr. Greg Christoforidis has been appointed as a Bucksbaum Institute for Clinical Excellence Senior Faculty Scholar.  The institute is "committed to improving patient care and the doctor patient relationship by strengthening communication and decision making between doctors and patients, and by teaching these skills to students, residents and junior colleagues."

Read the full post

Modern Healthcare: More research hospitals need a HIRO

The University of Chicago's Human Imaging Research Office (HIRO) has been featured by Modern Healthcare.

In the guest commentary, Faculty Director, Dr. Armato, and Technical Director, Dr. Gruszauskas, make the case for centralizing research imaging operations in medical centers and discuss their experiences at the University.

Read the full post

MRI Manager Wendy Stirnkorb Featured in MRI Safety Article

Our modality manager, Wendy Stirnkorb, was featured in a recent Medical Physics Web article on MRI safety and the need for MRI safety officers.  Wendy shares her experience, what she has identified as being crucial to building a culture of safety and knowledge, and some of tools she has implemented here at the University of Chicago.

You can read the entire article, 'MRI: Safety and Training Remain a Concern', on

Read the full post

Dr Paushter Named a Patients' Choice Award Winner for 2013

Congratulations to our Chairman, Dr. David Paushter, on being recognized as a Patients' Choice Award winner by Vitals.  He is an exemplary model of the cordiality, professionalism, and superb patient care that we all strive to provide here at the University of Chicago.

Dr. Paushter commented on the award, "I'm so honored to receive an award that's based on how my patients view the quality of care I provide. I strive each day to exceed my patients' expectations, and I'm grateful that they've recognized my efforts."

Read the full post

Dr Straus Awarded Bucksbaum Institute 2014 Pilot Grant

Congratulations to Dr. Chris Straus who has been awarded a pilot grant for his proposal, "Optimizing the Radiology Experience through Radiologist-Patient Interaction", by the Bucksbaum Institute.

Read the full post

Dr Zangan Appointed Ombudsmen

We are proud to announce that Dr. Steve Zangan will work alongside Dr. Anne Hong as the Ombudsmen for the Pritzker School of Medicine and University of Chicago Medicine Graduate Medical Education.

Dr. Holly Humphrey, Dean for Medical Education, announced Dr. Zangan's appointment on Wednesday, July 2nd, and detailed his exemplary qualifications:

Read the full post

Journal of Medical Imaging Publishes first Volume with Maryellen Giger at the Helm

We congratulate the team behind the new SPIE Journal of Medical Imaging on publishing their first volume.  All of the journal's articles will be free to view until 2015, so we encourage everyone to seize the opportunity and connect!

To read more about Dr. Giger's leadership of the JMI, please click here.

Read the full post

Dr Feinstein Elected to the CAAHEP Board of Directors

Congratulations to Dr. Kate Feinstein on being elected to the Board of Directors of the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP).

Read the full post

Radiology Team Supports the Treatment of a Pediatric Neuroblastoma Patient with High-dose Radiation Therapy

An inter-disciplinary team of University of Chicago physicians and medical staff provided a high-dose radiation therapy to a pediatric neuroblastoma patient, a first for our institution.

From the Chicago Tribune:

Read the full post

Dr Armato Elected AAPM Fellow

We would like to congratulate Samuel Armato III, PhD on being elected as a Fellow of the AAPM, the American Association of Physicists in Medicine!  An AAPM Fellowship is a recognition of Dr. Armato's distinguished contributions to medical physics over the course of his career.

Read the full post

CT Scans Preformed on Art Institute of Chicago Mummies

In late February, Dr. Michael Vannier and dedicated medical staff joined researchers from the Oriental Institute to examine two of the Art Institute of Chicago's Egyptian mummies, Paankhenamun and Wenuhotep. 

Read the full post

Interventional Radiology Present at Black Women's Expo

Dr. Rakesh Navuluri and a host of dedicated volunteers from the University of Chicago and the University of Chicago Medicine attended the 2014 Black Women's Expo on the weekend of March 28th - 30th.  The team spoke with hundreds of women at their booth and spoke at a "Ask the Doctors" seminar who were interested in interventional radiology treatment options for fibroids and varicose veins.

Read the full post

Dr Giger Accepted as Drexel University ELATE Fellow

Congratulations to Maryellen Giger, PhD on being accepted as a 2014-2015 Fellow in the Executive Leadership in Academic Technology and Engineering (ELATE) program at Drexel University.

The program aims to "advance senior women faculty in academic engineering, computer science, and related fields into effective institutional leadership roles within their schools and universities" by providing individual and collective learning and growth opportunities.

Read the full post

Imaging Residency Program Selected for AAPM/RSNA Grant

We are proud to announce that our Imaging Physics Residency program received significant funding and recognition from the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) and the Radiological Society of North America (RSNA).

Read the full post