The Department of Radiology at the University of Chicago Medical Center (UCMC) fulfills its tripartite mission of education, clinical care, and research through the outstanding contributions of its faculty. The faculty sections are broadly separated into clinical and research sections, the Department successes in all of these areas are due to the close interactions of faculty in their daily efforts. Faculty are international leaders in the field, recognized by their leadership roles at the University, Hospital, and national organizations and associations.

The clinical sections include sections of Abdominal Imaging, Breast Imaging, Nuclear Medicine, Musculoskeletal Imaging, Neuroradiology, Pediatric Imaging, Thoracic Imaging, and Vascular/Interventional Radiology. The section chiefs and physician faculty work with Dr. Aytekin Oto, Chairman, and the excellent technical leadership and staff to deliver the highest quality clinical care and graduate radiology education training program. All clinical faculty participate in the Department’s teaching missions with Dr. Chris Straus leading the medical student radiology education program and Drs. Seng Ong and Stephen Zangan directing the radiology residency program.

The basic research faculty participate through two broad sections, Imaging Sciences: Acquisition & Reconstruction and Imaging Sciences: Analysis & Evaluation, and integrate closely with appropriate counterparts in the clinical sections for translational research. Dr. Maryellen Giger, as vice-chair for basic science research, works closely with section chiefs and faculty to lead the basic science research programs.