Dr. Hodges was born in Anderson, Indiana on January 6, 1893, the son and nephew of physicians who operated a small hospital. His interest in medicine was stimulated as an apprentice with the primitive x-ray equipment of the hospital. He completed a medical degree in 1918 from Washington University in St. Louis. The University of Washington granted him a B.S. degree in 1919 and conferred a PhD degree roentgenologist by the Peking Union Medical College in China and remained there from 1919 to 1927. In that year he began a sabbatical at the University of Chicago that turned into a 31-year career as professor and chairman of the Department of Radiology.

Dr. Hodges created a research-oriented department at the University that focused on three main areas: improved x-ray systems for subspecialty applications, improved film development facilities, and novel ancillary hardware such as a photo-timing exposure control. Under his leadership, the Department achieved international recognition for excellence in clinical radiology, clinical research, and basic-science research that focused on the reduction of patient dose and improvement of diagnostic image quality. After mandatory retirement from the University, he traveled and later practiced for another 17 years at the University of Florida, before retiring to Green Bay, Wisconsin. Dr. Hodges died after a brief illness on December 27, 1996.

Dr. Hodges contributions to radiology were many, including the development of innovative technological advancements, such as the photo timer with Russell H. Morgan, the definition of normal and abnormal findings in obstetrical, bone, chest, and gastrointestinal radiology, and the training of numerous leaders of the specialty.

Many honors came to Dr. Hodges. Among the most significant were the Caldwell Medal (1953), the presidency (1955-56) of the American Roentgen Ray Society, the Cravat of the Order of Brilliant Star, Republic of China (1963), the first Grubb Medal of the Chicago Radiological Society (1964) and the Gold Medal of the Association of University of Radiologists (1978). The Radiological Society of North America dedicated its 1992 Scientific Session in his honor.